On Personal Style

I find that one of the trickiest things about being a creative myself and yet working for a creative (as in my boss owns the design firm and I am her employee) is that I many times feel like I have three people to please when designing.  Obviously first comes the client, but then as if sitting on opposite shoulders, there is the voice of my boss, and finally there is me.  Sometimes a particular sofa/artwork/what have you checks all three blocks, we’ll all love it!  But then there are the times when what I would choose is not necessarily what I think my boss would choose.  Pleasing her above myself probably seems like the obvious choice to some, but when the choice I personally prefer has that instinctual je nes sais quoi it is SO hard to decide what to do.  My boss and I have similar tastes but I definitely think she’d find my uninhibited decor style a little flamboyant…errr bohemian….rough around the edges??  I can’t quite figure out what the perfect word is, but she is much more “polished” where as I am more “wabi sabi.”

Sometimes at work I get panicky and think to myself “Oh my gosh, what if NO ONE likes my style??  What if NO ONE ever hires me!?  *GASP* WHAT IF I HAVE BAD TASTE??!?!!”

The point of all this is that I made a realization, a slow in coming one, but it has arrived none the less.  Here it is: there is a butt for every chair.  Meaning, for every person that doesn’t like a particular style, there is someone that does.  Want proof?  Here are four designers whose work and career I admire and just look at how different each of their styles are, yet all are successful.

Exhibit 1: Jamie Meares of Furbish Studio
One word: COLOR

design_canterbury11

jam101120-J Meares for High Gloss

 

 

Exhibit 2: Morgan Satterfield & The Brick House
One word: MCM (Done in Neutrals)

Screen Shot 2013-07-15 at 6.00.49 PM

Screen Shot 2013-07-15 at 6.00.41 PM

 

 

Exhibit 3: Justina Blakeney & her Jungalow
One word: Boho

jungalor-dresser

justinaskitchen

 

 

Exhibit 4: Joni Webb of Cote de Texas
One word: Elegant

jayne-103_thumb1

DSC_2386

So what I have been telling myself (over and over and over again) and what I would tell to anyone else feeling that their personal style isn’t good enough, is this:

 Have confidence.  Trust in yourself.  Go forth and be bold.

2 thoughts on “On Personal Style

    • I read the comment before I saw it was from you and was all like “Creeper who!? They love me?!!? Uuhhhhh…”

Leave a Reply

