Life’s Work

Today driving back to the office from a client’s home in Weston, I slowed to let a truck turn out onto the road in front of me. Here he is, see what is tied up to the back of his truck?

-2
Closer…
-1
He is hauling porta potties.  When I saw that, I thought to myself, “That is his life’s work.”  And then felt a twinge of pity for him.  Almost immediately I wanted to take back my feelings of pity, because why should I pity him?  It’s only a job he does.  While at the same time realizing my emotional reaction AND my words were totally wrong.  That is not his life’s work.  That was just his work.  His life is so much more than that.

Leave a Reply

